5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview Ms. Emily Arrow

Each time I hear a new Ms. Emily Arrow tune my heart sings. I’m super excited to get my hands on her new album that drops this weekend. If you haven’t heard and of Emily’s kid lit songs you are totally missing out. Thankfully for you; I’m going to embed a bunch of her work into this post.

Earlier this week I had a great old school phone chat with Ms. Emily Arrow. After I hung up, I knew that I wanted to feature her work on my blog. I was very happy when she agreed to answer a handful of my questions.

Emily is broadcasting her album release party on Periscope this Saturday at 1:30 EST/10:30 AM PST. I plan on watching with the Sharplettes. Click on the image below to visit find Emily on Periscope.

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 1.12.30 PM

Time for the interview! My words will appear in black, and Ms. Emilly Arrow’s will be red. Happy reading (singing)!

1. Can you tell us a little bit about Storytime Sing Along? (2)

Storytime Singalong is my debut kidlit tunes album – full of songs inspired by books for kids. I created this new genre of music so that readers of all ages can sing along to their favorite stories.

cover_digitaldistribution.jpg

2. What is your favorite thing about creating book-themed songs?(1)

Hearing rooms full of kids singing them along with me!

3. What is the hardest thing about creating book-themed songs? (5)

The hardest part is creating each song’s video. It’s a lengthy process that begins with getting permission from an author or publisher to adapt their book into a song. Then I write and record the song. Then I record and edit the video. THEN I share the video 🙂

4. If you could spend one day inside a book, which book would you pick? (3)

I feel like I get to spend whole days inside books every time I create a new video. And I’d have to say, my favorite day I’ve spent inside a book so far was creating the video for LOUISE LOVES ART by Kelly Light. Video coming next month!  

IMG_4055.JPG

5. What advice do you have for the young creators in my classroom?

What’s something awesome you saw or heard this week? Create something about THAT. Then give it away as a gift to someone and make something else. Keep doing this and big, fun things will happen.

 

EmilyArrowUkePic1.JPG

Click on the picture of Emily for more info on her new album. 

 

 

One thought on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview Ms. Emily Arrow

Leave a comment