#bookaday

#Bookaday is awesome!  Thank you Donalyn Miller for the wonderful hashtag.

I have decided to post 10 books that I have loved from my #bookaday summer (I actually have read 250 books during #bookday).  These books may not be my favorites, but as I reflect on summer they are the books that stand out. I like to keep these post short, but I was unable to keep it under my 400 limit for this post.  Since the post covers 10 books I felt that I was okay.

Total words 697, so that equals about 70 words per book:)

1. Sidekicks by Dan Santat

I have read a lot of graphic novels this summer and I would have to say that Sidekicks stands out as my favorite.  It is a great story about friendship and loyalty that I see my fourth gradres devouring.  Plus, who doesn’t want to root for an aging super hero and his pets with super powers?

2. Okay for Now by Gary D. Schmidt

A lot of people love this book myself included.  Lately, I have been reading a lot about the ending being sub-par.  I don’t see it.  It is kind of like the Micheal Jordan factor.  People always try to take down greatness.Cover to cover the best book I have read all year.

3. Prudence Wants a Pet by Cathleen Daly

Prudence Wants a Pet was my favorite picture book read of the summer.  I guess I love it so much because I see my own daughter so clearly in Prudence, and it makes me feel so proud.  Prudence is carefree and creative.  She goes with the flow and makes the most of every situation.  I LOVE THIS BOOK!

4. Sugar and Ice by Kate Messner

Next summer my wife is doing Ironman Lake Placid, and I loved visiting the setting of her race through Kate’s novel.  Plus, I think Kate is pretty much the nicest person in the world.  Every time I pick up one of her books I worry that I won’t like it, and because I like her so much that would just break my heart.  Thankfully, everything she writes is amazing, including Sugar and Ice.

4. A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz

I listened to the audio of this book and it was killer.  Sometimes I would find myself just sitting in the car when I got home so that I could keep listening.  Great middle school read.

5. Can we Save the TIger? by Martin Jenkins

This book opened my eyes to the human effect on animals like no book has done before.  Also loved Kapako Rescue.  The Kapako bird is mentioned in Can we Save the Tiger.

6. Franki Pickle Series by Eric Wight

Big thanks to Mr. Schu for introducing me to this series. Love the hybrid design-part graphic novel/part traditional novel.  I think kids will go nuts with this one.  I can see using this to help transition kids that only want to read graphic novels to start to encourage them to also read traditional novels. Plus, the book is awesome.

Frankie travels out west with Mr. Schu

7. Darth Paper Strikes Back by Tom Angleberger

Check out my Darth Paper Party: https://sharpread.wordpress.com/2011/08/23/darth-paper-party/

8. Book With a Hole by Herve Tullet

Most fun I had reading to my kids all summer: https://sharpread.wordpress.com/2011/08/22/book-with-a-hole-by-herve-tullet/

9. Latasha and the Little Red Tornado by Michael Scotto

This book comes out in a couple of months and I was lucky enough to receive an advanced reader copy from Michael.  I am excited to see what happens with Michael’s career.  Tons of people can write.  A lot of people can write well, but I think few really get how to write for kids.  Michael gets it.  A lot of kids will relate to Latasha, and all kids can learn something from her.

https://sharpread.wordpress.com/2011/08/16/latasha-and-the-little-red-tornado-by-michael-scotto/

10. The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller

The book that started it all.  I cannot imagine where I would be without this book, and without the continued support from Donalyn Miller.  I read this book in the spring and I couldn’t think of a better book to end my summer with.  It was even better the second time.

Thank you Donalyn!

One thought on “#bookaday

  1. Hey! Look at that! We like all the same books! Ok, this is a bit of a gross overstatement. I loved Sidekicks, Frankie Pickle and A Tale Dark and Grimm was so good that both me and my 8-year-old fought over it as we were both reading it for the second time. And now I’m writing down all the rest on this list to read, figuring if I like three that you like, I’ll like the other seven also. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment