Lenny and Lucy Trifecta: The Stead Interiew

Be sure to visit Mr. Schu’s blog to read his portion of today’s trifecta.

watch.connect.read.

Philip Stead is on Nerdy Book Club today. Check out his essay by clicking on the image below.

nerdy monster

At some point today I’m going to be asked the question: How’s it going? I love that question. Usually I answer by saying some either, “Wonderful”, or “Living the dream.” When I’m asked that question today I’ll say, “I’m happy.” The freakin’ Steads are on my blog today. How could I not be happy?

It is both an honor and a joy and a privilege to have the opportunity to interview the amazing Steads today. I hope you enjoy reading their responses as much as I did.

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

INTERVIEW – Erin & Philip Stead

1. Can you tell us a little bit about Lenny & Lucy?

ERIN: Lenny & Lucy is a book that I restarted five different times because I didn’t feel like the art was quite right. I tried all different ways to make the pictures fit the story. Looking back, I guess that makes sense because the story itself is about being uncomfortable and looking for ways to make things better. Or at least that’s what I think the story is about. Really, it’s up to our readers to create their own meanings for Lenny & Lucy.

lenny

2. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

ERIN: Go outside and look around. Think about the things you like and why you like them. Read books, comics, anything, and remember you are never too old for picture books.

lenny

3. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

PHILIP: I would say The Snowy Day, by Ezra Jack Keats, and Erin would say Sector 7, by David Weisner.

sector

4. What is the hardest thing about being an author?

ERIN: The hardest thing about being an author is time. I never feel like there is enough of it, especially when I know how important it is to spend time doing nothing every once in a while.

5. What is your favorite thing about being an author?

ERIN & PHILIP: In our opinion, we get to make books for a better audience than authors and artists who make things for adults. On our best days, we feel like we have a job that contributes something positive to the world. We get to have a job that we believe in. Also, we get to spend almost all of our time with our best friend, our dog, Wednesday.

steads

Leave a comment