Slice of Life: 5 Things I Loved About Last Week 3/8/2014

Be sure to check out more slices at Two Writing Teachers.

Be sure to check out more slices at Two Writing Teachers.

Slice of Life and Celebrate in one post. Two birds-One stone.

Be sure to visit Ruth Ayers blog to check out how our friends are celebrating today.

Be sure to visit Ruth Ayers blog to check out how our friends are celebrating today.

 

This past  week was pretty awesome. Here are 5 things that I loved about it.

1. Conferences

Spending 12.5 hours at school Monday and Tuesday makes for a long week, but the conversations that I got to have with my students and their families were wonderful. You couldn’t pay me to not have a conference with each and every one of the families that trust me with their child.

2. Publishing Day

We spent most of Thursday publishing. You can read a little more and check out a cool video if you read my slice from yesterday.

photo (20)photo (21)

3. Book Of Inventions

Yesterday I came home to this notebook filled with Breslin’s ideas for inventions. The world would be a better place if some of these inventions come to  be. I’d share a picture of the inside, but I don’t want to give away any of his secrets.

IMG_20140308_095048_660

4. Baseball Game

Yup, I’m working on putting together a baseball game at the end of May with some of the guys I went to high school with. We are going to use the money we make from the game to help buy kids books for Nerd Camp Jr. It has been great reconnecting with some of the guys.

Books and baseball-it doesn’t get much better than that!

I'm number 43.

I’m number 43.

5. Yellow Belt Test

Last night my 7 and 5 year olds tested for their yellow belts. After a day of practicing their vocabulary with homemade flashcards, and working on their high and low blocks they totally aced their test. I am so proud of them.

IMG_20140221_165650

12 thoughts on “Slice of Life: 5 Things I Loved About Last Week 3/8/2014

  1. Love the pictures – joy of the publishing, the anticipation (what’s is it?) of the inventions, the seriousness of the ballplayers and the energy of the karate kids. Thanks for sharing and making me smile.

    Like

  2. As always, I think photos add to the celebrations. I love the Book of Inventions! And the student publishing. Here’s to a new week of celebrations.

    Like

  3. This was a busy week-from conferences to planning a baseball game to yellow belts! Perhaps the balance made it look and sound like a fun week despite the long days.

    Like

  4. And what will next week bring? Sounds like this one was jam packed with goodness, late nights and smiles. I must also compliment you on making it a full week! Pretty sure you didn’t miss a day of slicing. Way to go 🙂

    Like

  5. I love that you illustrated this with photos! So perfect to show that yes, you really loved those things!

    Like

  6. Read your blog for the first time. Looks like you’re a great teacher and dad. My 7 year old grandson is in Taekwondo for the first time this year. He loves it and is so focused. He’s already a purple belt. What a great idea behind a baseball team–joy and giving. Continue to share!

    Like

Leave a comment