Trifecta: Interstellar Cinderella

Today’s post is part of a #SharpSchu and #NerdyBookClub trifecta.

Check out Mr. Schu’s post by clicking on the image below.

watch.connect.read.

Clicking on the image below will take you to the Nerdy Book Club’s portion of today’s trifecta.

nerdy monster

I read my third graders and my children a lot of books.

A lot.

Often the books that I’m reading my students are the same books I am reading my kids at home. I think that Interstellar Cinderella just may be one of the most important 2015 books that I read them.

IC_jkt_MECHS.indd

I so badly want my daughters and the young girls in my classroom to grow up believing that they can do anything in this world. It is very easy to see what society thinks girls should be, and it is not exactly what I’m hoping for my students and my kids. I think that it is fair to say that none of us are wishing that the young ladies in our lives grow up to be air-brushed babes. We’d much rather see them grow up to be…whatever the heck they want to be.

I feel that Interstellar Cinderella does a marvelous job showing girls that they can be anything that they’d like, and they don’t need a dude to swoop in and save the day. They can stand on their own two feet. They can be their own person. They can be themselves.

Interstellar Cinderella_Int_3

All of my students had smiles across their faces when we got to the end of Interstellar Cinderella. The ending led to some great conversations with both my students and my children.

I’m thankful to have a book like Interstellar Cinderella on my bookshelf at home and in my classroom library at school.

Leave a Reply

